Throwback Thursday and #3 Beauty Product

One thing I can count on Thursday for is a good laugh.  I can usually find about ten of my Facebook friends who are brave enough to post a picture of themselves from back in the day.  I don’t generally laugh at the picture (although some of the pictures that people post do cause me to chuckle a little), I am usually smiling because those pictures remind me of the carefree days of old.  I have never worked up enough courage to participate in Throwback Thursday.  But today is different.  If looking at everyone else’s throwback pics makes me smile, I’m sure my own throwback photos will, right?  Well, let’s give it a try…

I’m already smiling.  It’s a big smile, too.  Kind of like the one you see on my face in this picture of me when I was about four years old.

Image

I just showed this picture to my daughter, who just happens to be wearing a similar jumpsuit today!  (Isn’t it funny how fashion comes full circle?)

Okay, here’s another.  This one was probably taken around third or fourth grade.

Image

I remember vividly this being one of my favorite dresses.  Light pink with a white contrast collar and lace detail, complete with thick white tights, pearl earrings, and a light pink ribbon in the hair to match.  Oh, and let’s not leave out the polished nails! I’m certain that my mom had to pry me out of that dress kicking and screaming.  I will bet you $10 that I had on white patent leather Mary Janes with a small heel that made clacking noises on hard floors.  Clacking noises were a prerequisite for every dress shoe that mom purchased for me.  No noise, no purchase.  I mean, you’re not dressed up if your shoes don’t make noise, right?

One last throwback. Senior portraits, 1997.  Here’s my favorite:

Image

Let’s go ahead and address the elephant in the picture that is the huge cellular device that I am holding!  My children laughed hysterically when they saw it, by the way.  Geesh.  Technology has come a long way since then, huh?  Not much to be said here in the area of fashion.  Black tee, denim vest, simple jewelry.  I played it safe that day.  (That bracelet was a gift that my parents brought be back from Jamaica!)

Well, there you have it, my first attempt at Throwback Thursday.  It was fun strolling down memory lane for a moment. Looking at these pictures reminds me of what great parents I have.  As a child, I don’t remember “needing” anything. Ever.  My parents made sure to supply everything I needed and most of the things that I wanted.  At 34, my parents are still there when I need them.  They have had a great influence on my life.  Every day, I pray to God to help me to be the kind of parent to my children that my parents were to me.  I never understood them when I was a child, but now I look back on all of the love and support that they showed me, and I realize how amazingly blessed I am.

I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s #TT on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram today!

Okay, before I run, I have to give you my #3 beauty product.  Here it is:

Clinique Deep Comfort Body Butter.  This thick, creamy body moisturizer is perfect for anyone whose skin longs for all-day moisture.  It’s great for the entire body, but I especially love using it on my legs, knees, arms, and elbows.  Even though it’s thick and rich, Deep Comfort Body Butter doesn’t leave your skin feeling greasy.  I love that this body butter is unscented, leaving you free to use your favorite fragrance without worry.  I always purchase the 6.7 ounce jar and it lasts for several weeks.  The next time you pass by a Clinique counter, stop by and give Deep Comfort Body Butter a try.  You’ll love it!

 

Posted on June 6, 2013, in beauty, mom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m love the throwback pics!! They made me smile!! The phone definitely brought back some memories.

  2. Cherith, I love the pictures. I have a similar school day picture like the one you have in the pink dress. My dress was yellow. I’m not even talking about that cellphone. Lol!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

worldofbeautytips

A complete World of Beauty, Skin Care, Fashion and Style, Body Care, Makeup and much more

A Filipino Foodie

Thoughts and Ramblings of A Filipino Foodie Dietitian

life on the frogstar

the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, as told by one who doesn't know it

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

Joannaloves

A blog about beauty, fashion and lifestyle

Haley Miranda Photography

It's all about creating memories.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Home@F37 -

Budget Hotel In South Delhi

getsetandgo

Travel Blog of a Budget Traveler on a look out for Vegetarian Food

The House of Hendrix

where joy, imperfection, and grace abound.

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for Adventure. Stay for the Ride!

