Never Say Never and My #1 Beauty Product(s)

Back at the beginning of the year, my church participated in a 21-day fast.  We followed the Daniel Fast plan.  For twenty-one long, long, days,  we were only to eat fruits and vegetables, and water was the only beverage that we were to consume.

Immediately after my pastor announced this activity, I marched to the car and voiced to my husband that I would NOT be participating.  There was no way this steak-loving, cupcake-eating, wine drinking lady was going to deprive herself of these things.  Not happening.  No way.  No how.  End of discussion.

Then, from the back seat of the van, my eldest child asked, “Why not?”  My husband looked at me and waited on my response.  I didn’t have one.  At least not one that I wanted to vocalize.  The only reason that I could think of was that I didn’t want to .  The type of answer that every would-be parent longs to give when their child asks a question.  “Why can’t I go to the movies with my friends?”  “Because I said so!” (Well, maybe it was just me that couldn’t wait to be able to give those types of answers.)

Since my husband and the kids were all in, I had to pull it together and endure this adventure with  my family.  For twenty-one days, I traded the cupcakes, potato chips, fried chicken, and fast food with fresh vegetables, organic soups, beans, fruits, and water.  It was a bit of an adjustment, but it was an experience that I will never forget.  It was life changing in so many ways.

It was during this time on the Daniel Fast that I discovered my #1 beauty products:  water and fresh fruits and vegetables!  While on the fast, I quickly began noticing changes in my body.  My hair was at its healthiest, my skin was at its clearest, and extra pounds that I had been carrying for months melted away.  My body was a direct reflection of what I was eating and drinking.  We’ve all heard it before, but actually seeing the changes was amazing!

I was probably the most reluctant one in the house to drink water.  I had to get creative towards the end to keep the momentum going.  I began to add cucumber slices and lemon juice to my water to give it more flavor.  From time to time, I’d add fresh fruit to my glass of water and pretend that it was some sort of tropical treat.

Now, I’ll admit, I was counting down the days until the end of the fast.  But, I am glad that I listened to my gut feeling (i.e. my husband and my son).  Since the fast ended, I’ve done much better about including more water, fruits, and vegetables into my diet.

By the way, I wish that I had been blogging back then.  You’d get quite a few laughs out of the stories I could tell of those twenty-one days!

Posted on June 10, 2013, in beauty, eating, mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

worldofbeautytips

A complete World of Beauty, Skin Care, Fashion and Style, Body Care, Makeup and much more

A Filipino Foodie

Thoughts and Ramblings of A Filipino Foodie Dietitian

life on the frogstar

the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, as told by one who doesn't know it

marvelous teacher musings

OCD Teacher, Chef, Animal Rescuer, Muser

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

Joannaloves

A blog about beauty, fashion and lifestyle

Haley Miranda Photography

It's all about creating memories.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Home@F37 -

Budget Hotel In South Delhi

getsetandgo

Travel Blog of a Budget Traveler on a look out for Vegetarian Food

The House of Hendrix

where joy, imperfection, and grace abound.

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for Adventure. Stay for the Ride!

